Skip to content

NACBS Graduate and Early Career Caucus - Spring 2021 Virtual Professional Development Series

Published: March 21, 2021

The NACBS Graduate and Early Career Caucus is happy to announce the finalized schedule for a Spring 2021 Virtual Professional Development Series. These workshops will all take place via Zoom and will last approximately 90 minutes. We’ve done our best to vary the start times in hopes of accommodating folks in different time zones. Each discussion will have extensive Q&A time, so please bring your questions!

The first workshop entitled “Publishing Your First Article” will take place next Friday, March 26th at 2:00pm EST (11:00am PST / 6:00pm GMT). The panel will include journal editors Sandra den Otter (Journal of British Studies), Jeffrey Collins (Journal of British Studies), and Erik Linstrum (Twentieth Century British History). Register for this workshop here

The second workshop, “Teaching Your First/a New Course,” will be on Wednesday, April 14th at 3:00pm EST (12:00pm PST / 8:00pm GMT). Deborah Valenze (Barnard College) and Michelle Brock (Washington & Lee University) will discuss various aspects of preparing a new course and offer tips for first-time teachers. Register for this workshop here

The third workshop, “How to Write a Winning Grant Proposal,” will be Friday, May 7th at 1:00pm EST (10:00am PST / 6:00pm GMT). Our panelists will include: Amanda Herbert (Folger Institute), Steve Hindle (Huntington Library), Tim Alborn (Lehman College), and Natalya Din-Kariuki (University of Warwick). They will offer valuable advice from the perspective of both grant-reviewers and grant-writers. Register for this workshop here

Lastly, “Cover Letters, CVs, and the Academic Job Search” will take place Friday, May 28th at 12:30pm EST (9:30am PST / 5:30pm GMT). Caroline Shaw (Bates College), Nadja Durbach (University of Utah), and Paul Halliday (University of Virginia) will discuss what academic search committees are looking for and offer tips for tackling the academic market. Register for this workshop here.

These workshops will offer an opportunity to interact with and gain insight from a diverse range of experts in British Studies. We hope that participation in these events will also help begin to foster a sense of community among current and recent graduates in the field.

Please contact [email protected] if you have any questions or feedback on the group’s activities. We hope to see you at some of the upcoming events!

Comments

Leave a Reply



(Your email will not be publicly displayed.)


Captcha Code

Click the image to see another captcha.