Skip to content

jbscover.gif

The official publication of the North American Conference on British Studies (NACBS), the Journal of British Studies, has positioned itself as the critical resource for scholars of British culture from the Middle Ages through the present. Drawing on both established and emerging approaches, JBS presents scholarly articles and books reviews from renowned international authors who share their ideas on British society, politics, law, economics, and the arts. In 2005 (Vol. 44), the journal merged with the NACBS publication Albion, creating one journal for NACBS membership.

NACBS Undergraduate Essay Contest

North American Conference on British Studies Undergraduate Essay Contest 2014

Each year the NACBS awards eight prizes of $100.00 each to the best essays on British topics submitted by undergraduates studying in American and Canadian universities. 

Essays may be from any department –History, English, Philosophy, Cultural Studies, Gender Studies, etc–as long as they relate to British Studies and date from 2013/2014.

Essays must have been written while the author was a degree-seeking undergraduate at a U.S. or Canadian college or university.

Essays should be no longer than 25 pages (please, no theses).

Submissions must be accompanied by a nominating letter from the professor who taught the course for which the essay was written. Nominating faculty must be current members of the NACBS. Please include the permanent mailing address and email contact information for the student.

Send a paper copy of the essay and the letter of nomination to EACH of the following three members of the adjudication committee by June 15th, 2014 (3 copies in total).


Chair: Professor Rob Falconer
Grant MacEwan University
Room 7-352, City Centre Campus
10700 - 104 Avenue
Edmonton, AB T5J 4S2  CANADA
falconerj2@macewan.ca
 
Professor Laura Nym Mayhall
Department of History
Catholic University of America
620 Michigan Ave., NE
228 Marist Hall
Washington, DC 20064  USA
Mayhall@cua.edu
 
Professor Lisa Surridge
Department of English
University of Victoria
Victoria, BC V8W 3W1 CANADA
lsurridg@uvic.ca

RECENT AWARD WINNERS

Essay Contest Winners (2013)

Amy Cote, “Parables and Unitarianism in Elizabeth Gaskell’s Mary Barton.” University of Victoria. Nominated by Lisa Surridge. amycote@uvic.ca, lsurridg@uvic.ca

James Doing, “The War of Nerves: British Civilians and the Threat of Invasion, 1940-1941.” University of Wisconsin. Nominated by Daniel Ussishkin. doing@wisc.edu, ussishkin@wisc.edu

Martha Groppo, “The Rise of Maternal Healthcare in Britain and around the World.” University of Kentucky. Nominated by Philip Harling. mjgrop2@g.uky.edu, harling@uky.edu

Megan McCauley, “‘Round the Empire in a Day’: Exhibiting Empire at Wembley, 1924.” Boston University. Nominated by Arianne Chernock. meganm@bu.edu, chernock@bu.edu

Alicia Meyer, “‘The Misfortunes of Jane Danyell’:  A Tale of Devotion, Deceit, and Disaster in Early           Modern England.” University of Nebraska. Nominated by Carol Levin. aliciameyer@gmail.com, clevin2@unl.edu

Alison Mueller, “Curing London: How the London Sewer System Eradicated Cholera.” UC-Riverside. Nominated by Thomas Cogswell. alison.mueller@email.ucr.edu, thomas.cogswell@ucr.edu

Ryan Patterson, “The Contagious Diseases Acts: Under the Microscope.” Florida State University. Nominated by Charles Upchurch. rnp12@my.fsu.edu, cupchurch@fsu.edu

Rachel Phillips, “Sacrificial Rites – and Wrongs: Imoinda’s Death as a Sacrifice in Aphra Behn’s Oroonoko.” Western University. Nominated by Richard J. Moll. rphill28@uwo.ca, rmoll@uwo.ca

Alexa Price, “‘For Nelson’s Sake’: The HMS Foudroyant, Naval Nostalgia, and Public          Understanding of the Royal Navy at the Close of the Victorian Age.” University of New Hampshire. Nominated by Nicoletta Gullace. alexa.price@mac.com, nicoletta.gullace@unh.edu 

Rory Scothorne, “Subverting the ‘Civil’/‘Wild’ Divide in the Baltinglass Rebellion.” Washington University in St. Louis. Nominated by Derek Hirst. roryscothorne@wustl.edu, dmhirst@artsci.wustl.edu

Monica Thornell, “My Dear One?  A Recovery of Queen Anne, Regent of England.” McGill University. Nominated by Brian Cowan. monica.thornell@mail.mcgill.ca, brian.cowan2@mcgill.ca

Alex Warshick, “‘Unalterable Law’: Going Beyond the Material in Meredith’s ‘Lucifer in Starlight’ and Hopkins’ ‘God’s Grandeur’.” St. Francis Xavier University. Nominated by Matthew Fellion. x2010nmz@stfx.ca, mfellion@stfx.ca

PREVIOUS AWARD WINNERS