top of page

Thu, Apr 04

|

Orwell and British Studies

Orwell and British Studies

NACBS invites you to join Peter Stansky, Laura Beers, and Eileen Hunt for a lively discussion on their recent scholarship and Orwell's broader place in British Studies.

Registration is closed
See other events
Orwell and British Studies
Orwell and British Studies

Time & Location

Apr 04, 2024, 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EDT

Orwell and British Studies

About the event

April 4 at 10am PT/ 1pm ET/ 5pm GMT

Interest in the life and writings of George Orwell is more intense than ever. Our understanding of Orwell’s life and work continues to evolve as new scholarship provides greater nuance to this important figure. The NACBS invites you to join Peter Stansky, Laura Beers, and Eileen Hunt for a lively discussion on their recent scholarship and Orwell's broader place in British Studies.

______

Peter Stansky, a graduate of Yale, King's College, Cambridge and Harvard and now a retired Professor of History at Stanford, has over the years looked at such figures as William Morris, members of the Bloomsbury Group and George Orwell with particular interest in what they might tell one about Britain. With William Abrahams as co-author he published in 1972 The Unknown Orwell and in 1979 Orwell: the Transformation, still in print and then last year The Socialist Patriot: George Orwell and War.

Laura Beers is a historian of modern Britain, and author of the award-winning Red Ellen: The Life of Ellen Wilkinson, Socialist, Feminist, Internationalist, Your Britain: Media and the Making of the Labour Party, and Orwell's Ghosts: Wisdom and Warnings for the 21st Century. A professor at American University, she comments frequently on British politics for CNN and the BBC.

Eileen Hunt is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Notre Dame. She is the author or editor of ten books, most recently, The First Last Man: Mary Shelley and the Postapocalyptic Imagination (Penn Press, 2024), which traces the sources and legacies of Mary Shelley's 1826 pandemic novel The Last Man from ancient plague literature, especially Sophocles, to modern dystopian literature, including Orwell.  Her current book projects include a biography of Mary Wollstonecraft for Basic Books/Seal Press, three editions of the works of Mary Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft for Oxford University Press, and The Women Who Made Orwell, a feminist intellectual history that recovers the story of how a series of unsung literary women shaped the Anglo-Indian boy Eric Blair into one of the greatest political writers in the English language.

Event image: Orwell sign from Ipswich Transport Museum, 2021. Image courtesy Wikimedia Commons via Flickr.

Share this event

bottom of page